Performance evaluation biases

Bias performance evaluation sou's career journal

Bias performance evaluation sou’s career journal

My grad school thesis was about a cultural perspective on performance appraisals in the knowledge economy. It is one area in HRM that has always intrigued and puzzled me.
The other day I happened to see LeanIn’s slide share presentation on performance evaluation in organizations that includes a gender bias. Here’s something that caught my attention – “Women are often hired based on past performance while men are often hired for their potential”. Clearly, there is quite a fair amount of subjectiveness involved in evaluating employee performance, assuming this is true. What I would be more interested in knowing is why this bias happens in the first place.

