Things I learned from my mentoring experience

Mentoring experience sous career journal

Mentoring experience sous career journal

I have been mentoring my first mentee, as a part of Manchester Gold Mentoring, since December last year. When I enrolled for the opportunity, I never knew it was going to be a rewarding experience.
Here are some things I learned:
1. Being a mentor is a huge responsibility – If I have to draw a parallel, I would say it is like being a parent. The mentee looks up to the mentor for guidance on several aspects of job hunting, job interviews and career building. Setting up a good example is essential for the mentor.
2. Being a mentor is being vulnerable to a certain extent – A mentor may have to share his or her job history and story in an honest manner. It can help the mentee in his or her decision-making process.
3. Gratification – When the mentees tell us how much we have helped them in their career, it gives us a sense of pride and satisfaction.
I am already forward to my next mentee.

