One common thing between modern workplace and modern parenting style

In olden days, all that was needed to motivate employees/slaves was a whip. The idea that it is important to take into account the mental well-being of workers is a relatively recent one. So, whip no longer works. Instead, the HR department took that role and introduced the idea of motivation.
If you think about it, parenting has also evolved in a similar way. When I was growing up, my parents used to give me the occasional verbal abuse or even hit to put me in my place when I misbehave or when I am obstinate. Nowadays, parents of my age don’t believe in physical torture or verbal abuse. They try to negotiate and motivate and reward the kids. Interesting to see how workplace dynamics align with household dynamics as well.
The catch here is employees are adults and they understand logic whereas children don’t get the logic.

